What’s Up Homies? AKA Weekly Update #1

So if my hip, catchy title didn’t capture your attention, maybe my hipster-esque pictures will!

One of my summer goals is to take this blog more seriously than I have in the past year because I’m the type of person that sets goals and doesn’t follow through. To change that, I am going to make an effort to read as many books as possible over the summer. The picture above on the left is my stack of books that I want to finish by the time summer ends. I also have a few books in front and to the left of the stack. I’ve already finished Americanah and “The Glass Menagerie,” but I’m currently working on, Into Thin Air, and the infamous, Inferno. 

Today I read a bit of Inferno before I went to coffee with my best friend. It’s funny because she’s always been one of my closest friends even though we attended separate high schools and now, colleges. Many times it’s hard to stay close to people who aren’t in the same immediate setting as you are, but with my friend that’s never been an issue. It’s quite a relief to have such a great confidant that I’ve happened to know for years upon years, so I love her dearly. As a matter of fact, I started Inferno because of her.

C and I often meet up for lunch and coffee (shown above in an obnoxious coffee selfie, but hey, the foam was cool). One day we were discussing books we would make our English classes read when we suddenly decided that we were to start our own book club. (Because we’re that cool.) We quickly drove to the nearest book store to pick up a book to read together. We were going to read Catch 22, but unfortunately a paperback copy costs $17 (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) so we went with Inferno for a much more reasonable price of $6. Currently we are a little behind our reading schedule, but hopefully we’ll both finish in the next week and get to discussing. 🙂

Some other books in my stack include: Kite Runner, Going After Cacciato, Throne of Glass, Z, Catch 22, and some other books I want to reread such as, To Kill a Mockingbird, and, The Catcher in the Rye. To be perfectly honest, I absolutely despised Catcher in the Rye when I first read it. I’m not a huge fan of anything depressing (even if it’s somewhat humorous) so you can see the dilemma I had in reading it. However, I think that perhaps my views may have shifted since I last read it three years ago, so I’m going to give it another shot.

I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know in the comments what your book stack includes! Do you have any summer goals? Any books you would like to recommend? Have you read any of the books in my stack?

I hope everyone has a spectacular weekend!

Cheers,

L

Leave a Reply

