Weekly Update #3: Summer Unlike Any Other

Hello dear reader!

It has come to my attention that I’ve been extremely negligent with posting over the last couple of weeks, and for that I sincerely apologize. However, these last few weeks have been so action-packed that I haven’t even truly had time to collect my thoughts and reflect. Therefore, this post will be a brief personal reflection of the summer of 2016.

This summer has been incredible. In the past I despised summer break. Why, you ask? Well for one it is blazing hot where I live in the summer and I am not a fan of the heat. Secondly, summer can get dull quickly if you’re not doing anything fun or if you don’t get a chance to see friends. But despite my previous qualms with the summer season, in the last couple of years it has been growing on me.

This summer I traveled to new places. I had the opportunity to see some of my favorite bands in concert. I grew closer to new and old friends. I traveled by myself for the first time. I took a few baby steps towards becoming the person I’m supposed to be. And last but certainly not least, I fell in love with someone so beautiful inside and outside that I can’t even believe he exists.

The last couple of months flew by so quickly that even attempting to think about them creates a blur of hazy, colorful memories in my mind. There were ups and downs, but as I think about my time back home, this summer has been one of the best to date. I did my best to resurrect my blog, and I hope that my work (only a few, but detailed posts) inspires me to keep reading and writing during the school year.

Am I terrified for this semester? Hell yes. But I think it will be one for the books. I have amazing people by my side and a city that never stops shining.

 


A few pictures from my travels:

IMG_5338IMG_4609IMG_4616IMG_4133IMG_4626IMG_4595IMG_4577

Leave a Reply

